Life is busy. I mean really, really busy.

I can’t remember the last time I woke up and there was absolutely nothing that had to be done. No todos. No lists. Nothing.

How long has it been that way? Since Olie was born? He’ll be turning eight in just a few weeks and it feels like the time has flown by fast.

Mostly.

Looking ahead all I can see are things to do. Lots of them. Small things. Big things. Fast things. Slow things. Short things. Long things. Repeat ad infinitum.

Is this life? Is this the norm for everyone else? Judging by the busy movement of others, yes, this is true. How do they manage? Are they just hanging on for the ride like I am?

What secret of simplicity am I missing? Surely, there is an alternative to the pace and complexity of this life without resorting to a trip to Tibet to get fitted for robes.

Isn’t there?

