Okay, so here’s an obvious meme for Jeff : Why Facebook? More specifically, why should Chuck use Facebook?

I can hear everyone else asking “Why in the world is Chuck, of all people, asking about using Facebook? Now?!”

I know I’ve railed against FB with others before and even still do today. My gripes have been (in no particular order):

  • Only pervs, frat boys, sluts, kiddies, the socially inept, the unwashed masses, etc. use Facebook to connect with the same.
  • Facebook isn’t blogging. It isn’t a CMS. It isn’t IM. Hell, its lack of real content is what makes Facebook…Facebook.
  • Facebook users are more concerned about the number of friends they have rather than the more important social fundamentals of why and how they are friends.
  • If I wanted to make new friends I would start by walking away from the computer
  • Facebook is creating a whole generation of users who are more isolated, more anxious/depressed, less responsible, and less social than the misfits of alt society since Ken Kesey and the Merry Misfits all the way up to the Emo crowd of today.
  • Facebook users are bonking their heads on the ceiling of Esteem of Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs. Self-actualization seems impossible within the socioculture of Facebook.
400px-Maslow's_hierarchy_of_needs.png

“the desire for self-fulfillment, namely the tendency for him [the individual] to become actualized in what he is potentially. This tendency might be phrased as the desire to become more and more what one is, to become everything that one is capable of becoming.” — Abraham Maslow, Theories of Motivation

But in recent weeks I have been throwing back and forth the idea of joining Facebook. Since Mollie has signed up she has been able to re-connect with long lost friends. In fact, that was her raison primaire for joining. Or that’s what she tells me. One must beg the question: what about a phone call? Regardless, I can appreciate some of the desire. However, for me reconnecting with “old friends” (re: haven’t seen since high school for one reason or another) would be of little practical use. Perhaps there would an emotional benefit but that’s a mixed bag of cats.

I also have been reading up on the use of Facebook for social network marketing. Yes, it’s all the current rage and me being more than just aware of this trend is necessary to meet my clients needs and wants. John Jantsch of Duct Tape Marketing recently had on Mari Smith on his podcast and her arguments for professional use of Facebook were compelling. The synopsis of her arguments can be found at the appropriately memed named whyfacebook.com.

Finally, this morning my old store manager from Cosmic Cat Books emailed an invitation to join the former/current CCB employees group over at Facebook. My first invite to participate in FB. Mixed thoughts. I guess there’s two ways I looked at it:

  1. “Hey buddy, we’re getting the band back together”-esque and…
  2. “Hey buddy, remember when we were a bunch of geeks working at a cool comic store”-esque

Compelling and not so compelling at the same time.

Or is it just me?

