Where was I?

Alright, so I’ve been gone a while. Summer is the off-season you know. But the NFL preseason and training camps are in full swing so I might as well end the holdout and strap on the pads.

The consulting work has had its ups and downs. One moment I am busting tail feathers, the next I’m running to stand still. The trick has been for me to get used to this. The pic above (thanks Think Geek and Despair, Inc.) pretty much sums up the life of a web marketing and services consultant. Some projects launch bang, bang, bang. Others sit on the pad with meeting after meeting after meeting. I’ve met some great people and others who I’d like to defenestrate. But, all in all, I’d say it’s been quite worth it.

The other things that have been running my life also involve time, sweat, and sometimes tears. I’m still very much GMing at II. Last Friday marked the last day for my shipping manager and friend Courtenay. He’s off to IU to get his performance degree. Oh how I covet lost youth. Worse still is the fact that we have yet to find his permanent replacement. That means we’ll have a rookie team this Christmas shipping season and this old vet is tired of getting knocked on his keyster.

Speaking of old, the World Yoyo Contest wrapped up a week ago. 60 hours of work in 4 days equals 8 days of recuperation. I’m still tired from the bloody thing. This past weekend I napped for 3 hours both on Saturday and Sunday. God bless my wife for cutting me slack. I’ve already warned Greg that I’m too old for that kind of hardship. He agreed and promised next year will be different. We’ll see.

The event ran smoothly but was the most drama-filled thing I’ve ever been through. I’m not going to get into details but you can check out cutthroat world of yoyoing here to see what I mean.

Mollie is back to school for her pre-planning phase this week. Olie starts back to pre-K on the 20th. I know your summer hasn’t been the best, hon, but I hope 10 weeks was enough…even with a 4 year old. Maybe next year we’ll take a real vacation. Yes, I know I’ve been saying that for I-don’t-care-to-remember-how long. Thanks for loving me anyways. Thanks for also putting up with the on-again/off-again house hunting swings and the stress it may have caused. Stoopid housing market. Finally, thanks for allowing me to hit the links once in a while and for putting up with my pain and depression when a back injury prevented it.

This is just the tip of the iceberg that has been summer 2007. I wish I could write more about it but I’m up against the clock. Work calls. However, I promise to you, and you, and you, and you to get back into the game.

