I started this post more than a week ago but never finished it. Now that I’ve read it again, I’m not sure what I was going to say next. What was it that I wanted to say? How did it relate to Olie?

Damn.

As I was showering this morning, I realized that I hadn’t posted in about a week. Again, it’s not because of a lack of material…I simply do not make the time or energy available. Between II, Brick Launcher, and the family I reckon I have 3 full time jobs. I’ve concluded that each needs 1 hour of detox time per night. What’s left is the time I could blog but is usually devoted to BL R&D, trying to find a house, random web surfing, or TV. Sometimes I simply use it for sleep.

Sundays are my days with Olie. They give Mo a chance to detox for several hours in the sanctity of Good Shepherd Church. Meanwhile, I try to find things to do with my son that will wear him out and/or keep him out of trouble. Most of the time I’m the one who ends up worn out. A three-and-a-half year old will do that to you.

But Olie isn’t your typical kid (or maybe he is). Everything with him is 110% go. He’s got the strongest will of anyone I know (except maybe CBD) and that usually means a constant challenge to a parent’s authority and the natural boundaries we all have to live with. The result is confrontation…all the time. But it’s not him. It’s me.

That’ll teach me to abandon posts.

