For quite a while now I’ve had 2 major and several minor startup ideas kicking around my head. But my lack of knowledge in getting any of these ideas going has kept them in the starting gates. And funding, more specifically, has kept me out of the race.

I had a half hour to kill before meeting a friend for lunch so I decided to take a gander at the business section of my local Borders Books and Music. Hundreds of books with catchy titles stared me down. Then one book, The Art Of The Start, caught my attention. But it was the author’s name that was catchy: Guy Kawasaki.

“Oh yeah” I thought to myself. “He was one of the first Mac gurus at Apple whose blog I visit every once in a while.”

Actually, it was only a couple of months ago that I discovered Guy’s blog via Original Signal. Because his “How To Change The World” blog was personal it often featured lots of posts on family, hockey, etc that didn’t necessarily move me from the RSS feed to the site. However, he did have several posts that kept me tuned in.

I decided to give the book a chance.

It’s a good thing I did.

On the cover of the dustjacket, eBay founder Pierre Omidyar sings the praises of the book but more importantly encourages the reader to read the last chapter first. “The Art of Being a Mensch” puts everything into perspective first. It grounds the reader into a reality that no matter what you are doing or going to do, it has to be within the positive context of change. Good change. Helping change. “Men for others” type change.

The rest of the book is a recipe on how to start fast and nimble. The chapter on “The Art of Bootstrapping” was of particular help because it clarified most of my concerns on funding a startup. All of the chapters, in sum, breakdown the complexities of getting going with your idea through clear, practical, and highly informative steps. By the end of the book you get the nice feeling that almost any idea can get out of the stables.

I hope to invoke the methods taught in the upcoming months in several projects I’d like to develop. Thanks to Guy I’ll also have the confidence to get em going.

