The Pebble Beach Pro-Am is just a few weeks away. For many decades the tournament has matched professionals and amateurs alike on a demanding course with varying weather conditions. The Pacific Ocean provides a breathtaking backdrop for the finishing par 5 18th. It really is a must see for casual sports fans even if it’s just to laugh at some of the celebrity amateurs shag shots just like me.

The tournament also reminds me of another important fact: I am still an amateur blogger.

I have come to that conclusion after some reflective thinking the past few days on where exactly I am at this point in my career. My full-time day job occupies the bulk of my time and energy in exchange for monetary compensation that pays the mortgage, taxes, food, and all the other daily requirements to keep me and my family out of a cardboard box. After business hours, my second job as daddy and husband begins. The job is as equally demanding and, despite a lack of monetary compensation, is more rewarding.

With those two full-time jobs there is little time left for my third job…blogging. Okay, so blogging isn’t a job, per se, as much as it is a passion. But that passion, I hope, will one day create paid opportunities. In fact, I’ve already been able to extend my passion into some paying gigs. Amazingly, if I get others passionate about the very things I espouse, they seem to be willing to not only listen but to pay me!

Great, if I can get twelve more clients to be that passionate then I can quit my day job.

How do I get twelve more clients? Blog more.

Right.

You can see where I start running into problems. I’m stuck in that time warp of amateur and professional status. Nothing would please me more than becoming a professional blogger. The simple fact is is that in the beginning you’re not going to make enough money to keep you out of the aforementioned cardboard box. In order to survive in the blogosphere it’s easier to become a caddie rather than a pro.

What the hell? Another golf analogy?

Bear with me.

At the Pebble Beach Pro-Am next month the attention will be focused on the pairings of the pros with the amateurs. Carrying the sticks around will be the caddies. But the caddies also serve the more important role of advisers. They’re the ones who know the course well enough to confidently tell the golfers which club to hit and how hard to hit it. They know this from experience and from knowing their clients.

Hmm, that sounds familiar.

In the end, I guess I’m still an amateur working on my tour card and make my money carrying around someone else’s clubs. But for the time being I guess I don’t mind work.

