More cultural division on the web:

Here’s a Flickr discussion prompted by the declarative “HDR is evil”.

Urine Mister (paraphrased): You amateur hacks overuse HDR.

Amateur Hack1 (paraphrased): So, I’m just having fun.

Urine Mister: This is instant, lazy gratification in the guise of high-art…This is not real enjoyment. This is pretentious and it is fraud.

(What the hell?)

Amateur Hack2: I don’t recall any HDR enthusiasts or amateurs calling their HDRs high art. What’s pretentious is not the use of HDR, it’s this litany of insults against regular people who are not professionals, don’t think they’re professionals, who nevertheless enjoy using HDR on their subjects either because it’s fun or because they don’t have the money to buy the necessary equipment to take the kinds of pictures you would consider high art. Flickr is a community of amateurs and hobbyists more than it is an elitest art photography e-zine.

Amateur Hack 3: I believe that someone who is so opposed to what others experiment with to create their own screen name to be a diatribe against HDR is a ludite with no real vision of what the experimentation may lead to. Perhaps its just my mental-underdevelopment speaking but I find such trivializing of the efforts of HDR enthusiasts to be the very definition of pretentious.

Urine Mister: Ok, ok. Yes, I tend to say things with a condescending tone. But I am only expressing my view. And for the people that think that I’ve joined this group to stir the pot, you ARE the mentally underdeveloped that I’ve predicted earlier. I love HDR and I believe it should be used in most, if not all your photos…just not to the extent of the current condition of HDR. People that explore HDR should go overboard in means of experimentation and they should post it for feedback, but it has gone beyond that. This process of experimentation has become a standard of excellence: giving people the wrong idea of what HDR is all about.

And on and on we go.

